the agile admin

OK, so it’s been a while since the last installment in this series. I had talked about how we’d brought Scrum to our operations team, which worked fine, and then added in the developers as well, which didn’t.  Here’s how we got past that to a fully integrated DevOps setup managing both proactive/project/feature work and reactive/support/tactical work in an effective way.

The first challenge we had was just that I couldn’t manage 4 new scrum teams totally on my own. We had gotten the ops team working well on Scrum but we didn’t have any scrum masters other than me, and were low on people designated as tech leads as well. So step one, we just mushed everyone into a 30+-person scrum team, which sucked but was the least of the evils, and I immediately worked on mentoring people up as both Scrum masters and tech leads. I basically led by…

View original post 2,464 more words